Character Interview – Beth Loyde

The first character to appear in Insane Desires is Beth Loyde. In order to move forward in the story, I decided to give her a little interview in hopes of learning more about her.

Image courtesy of http://www.paganspace.net/group/knightsandladies/forum/topics/knighted-women via Bing Images

Beth, I hear you want to be a knight. In other words a Dame. Why in the world would you want to live a crazy, dangerous life? Don’t you know you could get killed?
Beth – I’m tired of being a nobody, a commoner. I want more in life. Adventure and to see the world, that’s what I want. I don’t wish to sit at home and have babies and sew, keep house and nothing more. I need to get out into the world and be a part of it. If I’m killed in the process, then so be it.
So, you’re not doing this for status?
Beth – Well, I was at first. I don’t want to marry the baker’s boy, that’s for sure. He is a nice guy and all, but I don’t desire to slave an oven for the rest of my life making bread. It would be nice if I could have someone else do all of that for me. Status and money goes hand in hand, who wouldn’t want that?
Wanting all this adventure, would you ever settle down and marry?
Beth – Absolutely not! That means having children and staying home. Where is the adventure in that?
Wouldn’t you ever get tired of it?
Beth – Maybe when I’m old and gray. I have many years before that will happen.
But when you’re old, who will take care of you?
Beth – (silence)… I will have to cross that bridge when I get there.
So, getting back to your adventure, what do you think of Gyles Velley?
Beth – (giggle)… He’s heaven. I can’t wait to learn to wrestle with him. Do you believe he would teach me? He is built like an elk and handsome as one too. I’ve seen nothing but kindness, even though I lost his horse. I thought for sure, he’d at least beat me for it.
Has he agreed to take you on as a steward?
Beth – So far. I’m not too sure he likes the idea. I did lose his horse, so there must be a way I can either recover it, pay for it or replace it. I would rather retrieve the horse, replacing it may not be an option. That costs money that I don’t have.
What makes you think you have it in you to become a warrior of sorts? Do you know any other women who’ve gone before you?
Beth – Oh yes! There was Tiffany Moss. She died a few years ago, mind you, but just the same, she was one of the first to pick up a sword and defend her holdfast from raiders. Then there is Vera. I just met her. I swear she can see right into your soul when she looks at you. Men fear her blade, even elven men.
Why didn’t you have her be your mentor?
Beth – (silence)… I can’t say. (Blushes) She’s just, so… never mind. I’m sure I will be getting a lesson or two from her in the future. Maybe, that is if something should happen to Gyles and he isn’t around to teach me anymore.
Is there anything you would like to add, that you want your readers and followers to know?
Beth – We all make mistakes. I hope they don’t hold my mistakes against me. I’m really a good girl, who wants to achieve something of myself.
That wraps things up. Stop back by for our next interview with Gyles Velley

Published by

lydiaclark21

Fantasy Romance Writer - Knitter - Quilter - Crocheter - Pet Lover - Gardener - Mom/Grandma