Berry Good

You can’t make blueberry muffins without blueberries! It’s not happening.

English: First blueberries of the season.
English: First blueberries of the season. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I love blueberries and I’ll spend hours on end picking those little wild ones that grow on our property. When I run out of them and find that I’ve not gathered enough, then I’ll break down and go pick the high-bush variety at a local farm. They taste almost as good. The wild ones have the best flavor.
Every summer I manage to gather about three to six gallons of berries to freeze for use throughout the year. Picking season generally starts right around the Fourth of July and continues until the middle of September, or when the chipmunks have stripped the bushes in my case.

Blueberry pie.
Blueberry pie. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Blueberry pie is another one of my favorites, along with cobbler, and of course pancakes.
I also make an awesome fruit coffee cake – blueberries are my favorite, but in case of substitutions, when the berries have run out, its peaches for the rest of the year.

Published by

lydiaclark21

Fantasy Romance Writer - Knitter - Quilter - Crocheter - Pet Lover - Gardener - Mom/Grandma